ALHA Board Meeting Minutes March 5, 2016

Board Members Present

Josh Williams-President Steve Dunlap- Vice President Tess Kidd- Treasurer Joleen Linson- Secretary Kerry Spears- Communications Linda Powell- District 1 Representative Leon Tidwell- District 2 Representative Lieta Spears- District 4 Representative

The meeting started with a special presentation by Mark Christ about the Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission.

Officer Reports

President: Josh welcomed everyone to the conference and thanked them for attending. We are currently looking at the ALHA/ALHFAM membership. Ian Beard reported that ALHFAM is changing its rules with institutional memberships. They are also improving their website, putting everything online. ALHFAM is also figuring out its relationship with ALHA and TLHA. We will provide a scholarship to the ALHFAM conference in Baton Rouge. David Fowler reported that they were sending a proposal to host the ALHFAM national in Tahlequah in 2018. Josh thanked Carly, Tess, and the Shiloh Museum staff for their hard work on the conference. **Secretary**: Membership is up from last year at 163.

Treasurer: Tess thanked Martha Siler and Tom Wing, U of A FS Drennan Scott House, and the Shiloh Museum Staff. The financial statement was included in the program for people to look over.

Communications: Kerry shared the website name and announced that the newsletters were uploaded. The by-laws are on the website. We have a facebook page. Kerry asked for information for the newsletters. Kerry also asked to be notified if you weren't getting emails.

Elections

Board meets quarterly in Little Rock. Positions up for election are communications, treasurer, and vice president.

Communications: Nominations- Kerry Spears nominated by Ocie Hunter and seconded by David Fowler. Passed with no opposition

Treasurer: Judy Costello nominated by Tess Kidd, seconded by Ocie Hunter. Passed with no opposition

Vice-President: Tess Kidd nominated by David Fowler, seconded by Cody Joliff. Passed with no opposition

District Reps will be elected by their districts.

District 1: Linda Powell nominated by Craig Powell, seconded by Jeannine Thompson. Passed with no opposition

District 3: Carly Squyres nominated by Tess Kidd, seconded by Judy Costello. Passed with no opposition

Announcements Train ride leaves Fort Smith Trolley Museum at 3:45. Anyone doing that can also join the Van Buren Walking tour.

Banquet in the same place this evening.

Motion to adjourn by Tess Kidd, seconded by Ocie Hunter. Motion passed with no opposition.